Books I read in 2014

My resolution for 2014 was to read more books than I did in 2013, I did not read as many as I would have liked, due to unforeseen circumstances (moving), but I have a good list nonetheless.
Most of the books I read have been made into movies, and as the old saying goes “the book is way better than the movie”. All of the books that I read that were turned into movies are infinitely better.

Here is a list of the books I read in 2014 and my thoughts on each.
I have also added the number of stars 1-5 (*-*****) on my rating of each book.
All books with a ♥ are my favorite books that I read.

1. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – this is one of two books that I started in 2013 and then finished in 2014. I love classic books as much as new books and this was a great read. The Kate Winslet movie has nothing on it. ****
2. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – having never really watched any of the Lord of the Rings movies and being a developing geek – other than my love of Batman, this turned out to be the perfect book to read, just so I could criticize the movies. This is book number two that I started in 2013 and finished in 2014. *****
3. The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks ♥ – being an avid reader of Nicholas Sparks I have found that each of his books just keep getting better and better. This is probably my favorite Sparks book. It has romance and history blended with action and loss. *****
4. A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks – this was actually a reread, but it is one of my favorites. ****
5. The Beekeepers Apprentice by Laurie R. King ♥ – if you like Sherlock Holmes and mystery novels this is the book for you, could not put it down. I loved the relationship with Sherlock and the female character. This is a series, but I have not read any of the others yet. *****
6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak ♥ – I love Europe in WW2, the Holocaust (just the history of it), and just history in general. This book moved me like no book I have ever read, I was talking about it for months afterwards. I don’t let many people borrow my books and I was practically giving this book to people to read; that is how amazing it was. I read this book in 2 days. *****
7. Winners by Danielle Steel – I have read 90% of Steel’s books, and this one was a very quick read because it was so good. ****
8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – being far away from being a “young adult”, I found this an amazing read. Once again I criticized the movie, but only to say “that’s not how they did it in the book!”. *****
9. Divergent by Veronica Roth – this book gave me great insight into what could happen in the future and what the government can do to a population of people. Wonderful read! *****
10. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – wonderful sequel to The Hunger Games, Collins is a wonderful writer. *****
11. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – the final book in the Hunger Games series was not as good as the first two but it made me excited for the movies, which I critiqued. *****
12. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – another book that made me excited for the movie, but knowing Divergent, I know it will not be as good as the book; but it will still be worth the watch. *****
13. The Nazi Officers Wife by Edith Beer ♥ – this is another book that I was talking about for months. The realness of it was so amazing and heartbreaking. The way Edith Beer survived made me really think about how hard it was for women like her during WW2. *****
14. Allegiant by Veronica Roth – the finale to the Divergent series was incredible. I saw so many similarities between this series and the government I live in it was kind of scary. *****
15. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – another great classic that I highly recommend. ****
16. The Paris Wife by Paula McClain ♥ – one of my fastest reads of the year. Great insight into the life of a writer and how what they do affects everyone they love. *****
17. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand ♥ – another fast read, especially for being a big book. Being a WW2 buff, I found this to be one of the best books I have ever read on the subject. The story of a man who would not be beaten. *****
18. Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? By Mindy Kaling – probably my least favorite book of the year. Not as funny as I expected, but still a good read. ***
19. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – the last time I read this book was in high school 10 years ago, I love, and have memorized, the Keira Knightley/Matthew Macfadyen movie and thought it was about time to read it again. The movie has nothing on the book, but I love both. ****
20. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – another one that was not my favorite. Way overrated! Even as an adult that is not abhorred by cursing, there was way too much in this book for me; I could not get past it to actually get the feeling for the story. **
21. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – a wonderful book! A long lasting classic. Highly recommend. *****
22. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – a wonderful short read (less than 500 pages). I liked this book a lot more than I expected I would. ****
23. Heatwave by Richard Castle – being a fan of the show Castle I found it fitting that I should read the book that “inspired” the show. I will definitely be reading the rest of the books. *****
24. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by JRR Tolkien – If you have any sort of imagination, you should definitely read this book, and the series itself. Tolkien was a genius! My final book (to finish) of 2014. *****

I have included my reading resolution list for 2015, I will not do it in order, it will be more of a pick-and-choose list. In 2014 I found a wonderful idea of picking a book out of a hat, or in my case a Tide Pods container (pictures included); I then took an old envelope and put all of the books I picked in it, I wrote on the slip when I started the book and when I finished the book. I also put each book I finished on the back of the envelope; in a separate notebook I put my list to keep better track of what I read.

I read most of my books on the Overdrive library app, it is the perfect way to read books if you have a library card.

I hope you can find a great read or two on my list.
See you in 2015!

IMG_7815 IMG_7814 IMG_7813 IMG_7812 Book list

Leave a Reply

