CrockPot chicken fajitas

At work this week I decided it was my turn to make an awesome lunch, I tried to find the easiest recipes I could think of; none of them seemed to jump out at me, so I went to my trusty website Pinterest. When I find recipes on Pinterest, I always tweak them to make them my own, just as I did with this one. This recipe called for seasonings (cumin, paprika, and coriander) that I didn’t want to buy or try to locate in my spice basket, so I used what sounded good in my head (ground red pepper). I just want to say that these turned out to be such a big hit, it could have been a two outs, bottom of the 9th grand salami! So here goes!!!

2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast halves

1 (14.5 oz) can petite diced tomatoes with green chilies

3 bell peppers julienned (I used red, because they were on sale when I was shopping)

1 yellow onion, halved and sliced

1 tsp minced garlic

2 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp ground red pepper (the original recipe called for 2 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp paprika, and 3/4 tsp ground coriander)

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp black pepper

2 Tbsp fresh lime juice (I used the cute little lime bottle)

1 Tbsp honey

Flour tortillas, cheese, sour cream, salsa, or any other toppings you might enjoy

Directions

Pour half of the canned tomatoes into the bottom of a slow cooker and spread into an even layer. Top with half of the peppers and half of the onions. Sprinkle in garlic. Top with chicken breasts.

In a bowl whisk together chili powder, salt, black pepper, and seasonings of your choice, in my case the ground red pepper. Evenly sprinkle half of the seasoning over chicken breasts then flip chicken and sprinkle in remainder. Top with remaining half of the tomatoes, then layer in remaining peppers and onions.

Cover and cook on HIGH for 3-4 hours or LOW for 6-8 hours, until chicken has cooked and through and veggies are tender. You can either take out the chicken at the lower point of cooking and slice it, or wait until you’re ready to eat and the chicken will shred, this is what I did and it was perfect.

If you would like, you can ladle out 1 cup of the broth and discard, the juice was amazing, this could almost be a soup. Gently toss. Serve warm, along with the tortillas, and all of the toppings.

I hope you enjoy this. I have posted pictures of the process and ingredients. IMG_8019 IMG_8020 IMG_8021 IMG_8022

In a small bowl whisk together lime juice and honey and add to slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

